How to Delete Posts on Social Media?

Delete Posts on Social Media

I wanted to get rid of my old posts on my social media platforms. Be it Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram, these apps are on my mobile.

Deleting unwanted posts from these apps on my mobile has become very easy.

You only need to open your Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram apps, go to your profile, follow the steps, and delete the posts you don’t want.

Let’s find out how to do it in easy-to-do steps.

How to delete posts on social media

1. Twitter or X

Twitter logo
Twitter logo

You can delete any of your own posts from X at any time. Deleting a post will reflect your updated content on X.com, X for iOS, and X for Android.

How to do it?

  • Visit your Profile page.
  • Locate the post you want to delete.
  • Click the three horizontal icons.
  • Click on Delete post

Facebook Pokies Apps

Important: You cannot delete posts in bulk.

What happens when you delete a post on X

  • It is removed from your account, the timeline of any accounts that follow you, and from X search results on x.com, X for iOS, and X for Android.
  • Reposts of the deleted post will also be removed.
  • The post contents, associated metadata, and all analytical information about that post are no longer publicly available on X.
  • If other people have copied and pasted part or all of your text into their own posts, their posts will not be removed.
  • If other people have reposted your post with a comment of their own, their posts will not be removed.
  • Posts may be cached or cross-posted on third-party websites, applications, or search engines.

2. Facebook

Facebook app
Facebook app

On Facebook, you can remove your own posts and hide posts from friends on your timeline.

How to do it?

  • When log in to Facebook, tap on your profile picture.
  • Find the post you want to delete and click on three horizontal dots in the top right.
  • Select Delete post, and you are done.
  • It will remove the post from Facebook entirely.

Important: You can only delete posts that you have posted.

What about a post you are tagged?

If you don’t want a post you’ve been tagged in to appear on your timeline, you’ll need to remove the tag.

However, that post is still visible to the audience that it’s shared with in other places on Facebook, such as Feed and Search.

3. Instagram

Instagram logo
Instagram logo

You can delete posts you’ve shared on Instagram at any time, as well as photos, reels, and videos that you’ve posted.

How to delete it?

  • First, log in to Instagram.
  • Select the post you want to delete.
  • Click on three horizontal lines above your post, then click delete.
  • Click delete again to confirm and it is done.

How do you delete multiple posts?

  • To delete multiple photos, reels, or videos you’ve posted, click on the three vertical lines at the bottom left.
  • Now click on your activity.
  • Click photos and videos and click posts, reels or videos at the top.
  • Next, select in the top right, then click on the photos or videos you’d like to delete.
  • To filter your posts or videos before making your choices, click Sort & Filter at the top right, select your filter preferences, and click Apply.
  • After you’ve picked your posts to delete, click Delete at the bottom.
  • Finally, click delete to confirm.

What happens when you delete posts?

  • When you have deleted the post from Instagram, it is moved to a recently deleted folder.
  • Then, after 30 days, it will be automatically deleted forever.
  • This means that recently deleted posts on the Instagram app for Android and iPhone can either be restored or permanently deleted.

Why would you want to delete posts?

There can be many reasons:

  • You are being trolled.
  • Privacy concerns
  • You want to clean your account
  • Misinformative posts
  • Change in opinions and thoughts
  • Safety and Security

Takeaways

Whatever the reason for deleting social media posts, there are a few easy steps to follow.

Over time, I delete old posts that are no longer relevant to me. Also, my X account only has posts related to some unresolved complaints.

Once the issue is resolved, I delete those posts.

You can do this easily from your mobile on the go.

FAQs

How do you delete chat from Facebook?

You can click on the chat you want to delete and click delete chat. But it won’t delete from your friend’s chat list.

Can I delete multiple posts from X?

No, you cannot delete multiple posts from X in one go. You will have to manually select each post and delete.

Why does Instagram keep deleted posts for 30 days?

It does so, thinking you might change your mind and retrieve the post again.

For how many days does Instagram keep deleted posts until they are completely removed?

It keeps it for 90 days. Copies of your content may remain after 90 days in backup storage

How to delete a comment on Facebook?

You must click three horizontal lines next to the comment you want to delete. Then select delete and again confirm delete.

About the author

Kamal Kaur